Huggies Forum

teaching or nursing HELP Rss

Hey everyone, I have a little issue about my study. Im currently doing my bachelor in nursing and am finding i am no longer interested in it. I cant get the motivation to learn and i have been thikning a lot about changing my degree. I like the fact of caring for others, i particularly wanted to work in NICU and then continue study to be a midwife but i feel like my passion for the whole nursing thing has depleted.
I have always wanted to be a teacher ever since i was young but then worked as a carer and desided nursing was for me. Recently i have been thinking about teaching again.
The issues are i dont want my family to think im giving up as they were so pleased with me doing nursing. Also the whole money thing (which doesnt matter to me) my other half doesnt want me to go for a career that potentually will earn me less money (i dont know the rate differences between teacher and nurse). I know these are idiotic factors but they do bother me. I hate ppl thinking im a failure.
Anyway what would you do in this situation?? are there any nurses or teachers that can give me some pros and cons or any advice ............. thanx smile

I got halfway through my teaching degree then switched to nursing.... Similar reasons to yours but towards nursing.

A pro for teaching I can add.... As a teacher you would have family friendly hours, and you will get to spend school holidays with your kidlets and not have to find someone else to look after them, something which my husband and I are going to struggle with once I finish my degree (he is a shift worker too).

Good luck in making your decision