Be comfortable in your skin – this is a judgement free zone. Find out more!

Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Anencephaly Rss

Hi,
Last week we got devastating news at our 20 week scan that our baby is anencephalic. We were told to have a D&E but have decided to continue carrying our baby. I'm just wondering if anyone has gone or is going through this and have made the same decision to continue on?
Much Love <3

Hi there, I have no experience with this at all, in fact I had never heard of it until now so I looked it up on wikipedia, and I just wanted to say I'm very sorry for you to be going through this. I can't begin to imagine what a shock it must have been for you and I think you are very brave for choosing to continue with your pregnancy.

Best wishes x
[quote name='LachieRuby&Bump' date='21 June 2011 - 07:23 AM' timestamp='1308637395' post='3011352']
Hi,
Last week we got devastating news at our 20 week scan that our baby is anencephalic. We were told to have a D&E but have decided to continue carrying our baby. I'm just wondering if anyone has gone or is going through this and have made the same decision to continue on?
Much Love ]Anencephaly[/url]

Hi,
Much Love <3

Also babies with anencephaly tend to be girls.
I found a blog about someone who did keep their baby and she lived for 3 months 4 days post birth, the blog goes through the whole jounrey she went through I think you will find it very helpful: http://babyfaithhope.blogspot.com/

I found it through this article please read the comments down the bottom:
http://serendip.brynmawr.edu/exchange/node/54
I too had to look this up on wikipedia. And am sitting here with tears in my eyes, how devastating.
I also think you are really brave to continue your pregnancy. Hope you find the support and information you're after.
x

I too along with the others looked it up and I can't even begin to comprehend what you must be going through.
My thoughts are with you and your family.