Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Beginning of my journey Rss

Hi all....i have never written in a forum before, never blogged before so i really dont know where to start.

Today i shook my 2yo son. Why? He wouldnt eat his breakfast. I got angry with him because he wouldnt eat his breakfast. The look he gave me will stay with me till i die. Sheer horror, confusion and fear. He ran off to his bedroom crying and i ran in the opposite direction. I had become 'one of those' people. The type of person i swore i would never be like. What kind of parent physically hurts their child out of sheer rage? Me. As you would expect, i hightailed it straight to my gp. I got an immediate refferal to a psychologist and begin my long journey tomorrow at 1pm.

The funny thing is that i know what is wrong with me. I know why i feel like this. I know and i understand, yet sometimes it is like i am also an onlooker as, despite the fact that i know, i cannot do anything to stop it.

My second son is difficult. He is 5mths old and all he seems to do is cry. I know its not all he does, but he just has one of those cries that grates your nerves. And he does whinge and cry alot, and he doesnt sleep during the day. He sleeps so well during the night, not a peep out of him from 6pm, but during the day, he wont sleep longer than 20mins 3 times a day. By 4pm he has had enough and loudly lets me know. To make my situation worse, my partner works away a month at a time and i have no family and all my friends have their own families to worry about. I feel utterly alone and isolated.

So i have made the first step to recovery. Like an alcoholic i guess. First step is admitting you have a problem.
I have a problem and it is called Postnatal Depression.

I have come here for support. To let you know that unlike what i thought, you who is reading my little rant, is not alone. I am not alone. Other mothers have suffered before me.